22nd February – Thinking Day

I have made so many friends, met most of my partners and done most of my exploring and traveling through Guiding and Scouting. 

I have had some amazing experiences, met some amazing people through this organisation and it’s shaped me. 

I have met a few absolute arseholes through it too. But these have been by far the minority and in an the biggest youth organisation (Guiding) and the biggest mixed youth organisation (Scouting) there are bound to be one or two. I mean Guiding world wide has 10 million members, it’d be a miracle if they were all lovely rather than just most. 

I will always identify as a Guide first, and a SeaScout second. I will never again wear a brown Scout shirt and I still get flashbacks sometimes with men in a land scout uniform – I wonder if I did the right thing, or at least if I’d reported it would it have saved someone else. I wasn’t strong enough. This is the down side of thinking. 

Mostly we celebrated thinking, brownies, guides and Rangers with fire…

  

Leave a Reply

